Illinois License Reinstatement
Illinois License Reinstatement may be a necessary step after a DUI or other driving-related infractions. Attorney Andrew Nickel shares everything you need to know on this page.
Call or email today to schedule your free consultation.
Illinois License Reinstatement
There are several reasons that someone would need to follow the process for Illinois License Reinstatement. Perhaps you have lost your legal right to drive for doing something you didn’t know was unlawful, or you didn’t realize a license suspension or revocation was a possible outcome of your actions. A few of the most common reasons include:
- Being uninsured in an “at fault” car accident
- DUI conviction
- Failure to appear in court on a traffic violation
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to pay traffic tickets
- Having five or more toll violations
- Having ten or more unpaid parking violations
- Having three traffic violations within a year
- Leaving the scene of an injury-causing accident
Another violation you could be guilty of without realizing it occurred is if you were photographed driving through a red traffic light five or more times and failed to pay the fines. Initiating the Illinois license reinstatement process can be best accomplished with the assistance of a qualified attorney like Andrew Nickel from the Law Offices of Andrew Nickel, LLC.
Navigating an Illinois Drivers License Reinstatement
An Illinois driver’s license reinstatement is required if your right to drive has been suspended or revoked. A suspension means that your driving rights have been withdrawn for a brief and specific period of time. If your license is revoked, however, it has been terminated. The amount of time may differ, but if you drive during that time, you can be charged with a serious crime.
Unfortunately, especially if you live in the Midwest, you probably still count on the use of your vehicle in order to get to work or school and to run errands like grocery shopping. Therefore, it is necessary to begin the Illinois license reinstatement process as quickly as possible.
Having a skilled attorney could result in a shorter period of suspension. A shorter suspension makes it less likely that you will feel compelled to drive before your license is reinstated.
What Is the Illinois Drivers License Reinstatement Fee?
When your suspension or revocation ends, you might need to pay an Illinois drivers license reinstatement fee before you can legally drive. Although the fees depend on why you initially lost your license, the cost generally ranges from $70 to $500. You may be subject to additional expenses, but your local attorney will be able to advise you.
Illinois Drivers License Reinstatement Hearing Facts
Following a suspension or revocation, you can request an Illinois drivers license reinstatement hearing to determine whether you will be able to drive legally. The Secretary of State developed a program offering drivers an opportunity to prove they have fulfilled the necessary requirements to earn the rights to their licenses.
When preparing for an Illinois license reinstatement hearing, an experienced legal representative will examine the documents, formulate a plan, and provide you with the tools to successfully navigate the hearing. After becoming eligible for reinstatement, you must be granted driving privileges by the Secretary of State.
Trusted Advice on Illinois License Reinstatement
Speak with proven attorneys for free.
Verify Illinois Drivers License Status
With so many potential factors that can result in suspension or revocation, you should periodically check your Illinois drivers license status. Most people believe if something happened to their license, they would know it. This is not necessarily the case, especially if you have recently moved, the address on your license does not match your current address, or you have unresolved citations or tolls.
Since driving on a suspended license is such a serious offense, it is a good move to verify the status of your driver’s license periodically. Then, retain counsel experienced fighting reckless driving Illinois cases and other traffic offenses to pursue an Illinois license reinstatement.
Check Drivers License Status Illinois Online
Although there are a number of methods to check your drivers license status Illinois online, the easiest is to search for your driving record on the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) site.
How Do I Check If My Illinois Driver’s License Is Valid
Now, you might be wondering, “How do I check if my Illinois driver’s license is valid?” This is a valid question and one that is easy to resolve. Call the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department’s automated attendant at 217-782-3720 and choose option number one. When you provide your social security and driver’s license numbers, the system supplies your status.
You could also visit your local Illinois DMV and request a copy of your driving record. This will ensure you are not driving illegally and prepare you to face an Illinois license reinstatement if needed.
How Do I Know If My License Is Suspended in IL?
“So, how do I know if my license is suspended in IL?” Whether you inquire online, by telephone, or in person, you must verify the status of your license if you regularly drive or are planning a trip. Most people believe that driving on a suspended or revoked license just to get to work or only rarely that it is not a “big deal.” They assume that the risk is slight, and the consequences are no worse than other petty traffic offenses.
This is not the case. If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you run the risk of being charged with a serious criminal infraction that reduces the likelihood of an Illinois license reinstatement.
Illinois License Reinstatement can be Stressful.
We’re here to help put your mind at ease.
Driving on Suspended License IL
Driving on suspended license IL is a criminal offense that may result in extreme consequences. It is generally charged under Section 6-303 of the Illinois Vehicle Code as a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum of 364 days in prison and a $2,500 fine plus court fees.
Driving on a suspended license in Illinois is a serious offense. A reputable counselor with knowledge of state laws and experience in traffic court is a vital partner in your Illinois license reinstatement representation.
Driver License Suspension Check Reduces Risk of Driving Illegally
Avoid illegally driving, and conduct a driver license suspension check periodically. Under certain conditions, driving on a suspended license could result in felony charges or a revocation
Illinois Drivers License Suspension Due to DUI
If you have received an Illinois drivers license suspension or revocation for getting a DUI, driving during that time has more serious penalties than if your license was terminated for other reasons. The first conviction of driving on a suspended license earns 10 or more days in prison or 30 days (at least 240 hours) of community service.
Retaining the services of an attorney with DUI Illinois experience is crucial for receiving the lightest sentence possible.
Understanding Illinois Drivers License Suspension Rules
There are numerous Illinois drivers license suspension rules with which people need to comply. For example, If you have been issued a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP), you must use it each time you drive or suffer major repercussions.
Although your license may be automatically restored when the designated suspension period has passed, and the Illinois license reinstatement fee has been paid, your revoked license requires a hearing with the Secretary of State to regain privileges.
Illinois License Reinstatement Expert
Get the help you need to plan for a successful future.
Driving on a Revoked License in IL
If you are found guilty of driving on a revoked license in IL, the Secretary of State will extend your suspension for the same length of time as that of your initial suspension. Under most circumstances, your first offense of driving on a revoked license will be tried as a misdemeanor. Plus, if you are convicted, the Secretary of State will not consider the reinstatement of your license for at least one year from the date of conviction.
To improve the outcome of your case, it is advisable to seek the counsel of a lawyer experienced in revoked license IL representation. The right attorney can provide advice and help develop a plan for your defense.
Driving on a Revoked License IL Second Offense
The second infraction for driving on a revoked license IL might be charged as a Class 4 felony. The conviction of which has a mandatory punishment of 300 hours of community service or 30 days in prison. It may, however, result in penalties that include one to three years in the Illinois Department of Corrections and a fine of up to $25,000.
Powerful Help with Illinois License Reinstatement
Laws in Illinois can be tricky, schedule a risk-free consultation today.
Renewing Illinois Drivers License
Renewing Illinois drivers license is a possibility even for those who have received a lifetime revocation. Illinois residents can apply for an Illinois license reinstatement five years after the initial conviction. Out-of-state residents can petition after ten years.
The process of having a suspension lifted is complex. An expert lawyer would examine each incident that contributed to the suspension or revocation and determine whether it could be removed from your driving record. If circumstances deem that the case should be reopened and offenses are removed for the record, the driving ban may be lifted.
What Do I Need to Renew My License in Illinois?
If you are questioning, “What do I need to renew my license in Illinois?” the path is difficult but clear. The Secretary of State performs two kinds of hearings: informal and formal. Informal hearings are held at various places throughout Illinois, such as DMVs, and are conducted on a walk-in basis.
A formal hearing is similar to a trial, and is required for the following:
- Multiple suspensions or revocations from DUI
- Out-of-state reinstatement application
- Person seeking a modification or cancellation of a suspension or revocation order
- Person seeking a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) after a Monitored Device Driving Permit (MDDP) was canceled\
- Revocation involved death
To schedule a formal hearing, the petitioner submits an official request and a $50.00 filing fee. The petitioner chooses the location of the hearing from Chicago, Joliet, Mount Vernon, and Springfield, and the Secretary of State arranges the date and time.
If your license was revoked due to a DUI, you must prove to the Secretary of State that your alcohol use has been evaluated, and you sought treatment. You need to understand the effects of substance abuse, have a relapse prevention plan, and attend a support program if you have been ordered before Illinois license reinstatement occurs.
Illinois Drivers License Renewal Test
If you are granted a Restricted Driving Authorization, you must complete a list of requirements that may include an Illinois drivers license renewal test prior to receiving a license. If you are approved for a complete reinstatement, the requirements are less comprehensive. You may only need to pay your reinstatement charges and obtain SR-22 insurance coverage to receive your license in two to three business days.
If your license has been revoked, the Secretary of State requires that you pass the vision, written, and road test prior to qualifying for either an RDP or full Illinois license reinstatement. It takes approximately three to five weeks to receive your RDP in the mail after you send proof of compliance to the Secretary of State. If you are granted an RDP and are later approved for reinstatement, you will need to take the tests over again.
Get Help with Illinois License Reinstatement
Our firm works with cases like this all the time.
Use the Illinois Rules of the Road Book to Prepare for the Exam
You can prepare for the written portion of the driver’s test or reinstatement exam by studying the Illinois Rules of the Road Book.
This guide is published by the Illinois Secretary of State’s office. It covers everything from the process for applying for your first driver’s license to basic driving maneuvers like passing or turning to issues like DUI and license reinstatement.
More Illinois Driver’s Handbook Information
In addition to studying the Illinois Driver’s Handbook, drivers seeking an Illinois license reinstatement can prepare for the road test with information found here.
There are several types of RPDs typically granted. These are for the purposes of childcare, eldercare, medical care, and work, etc. This is usually only authorized after you have completed 75-percent of your suspension. This may seem complicated, so contact a skilled and experienced attorney for further explanation and advice.