Driving on Suspended License IL
Call or email today to schedule your free consultation.
Driving on Suspended License IL
Driving on Suspended License IL is no laughing matter. Life is hard and things happen. Sometimes people lose their right to legally drive for activities that they didn’t realize were illegal. They still need to get to work, take their kids to school, and more, and they assume incorrectly that driving on a suspended or revoked license resembles any other petty traffic offense.
Unfortunately, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a criminal violation and could lead to severe consequences. In fact, this offense is typically charged under Section 6-303 of the Illinois Vehicle Code as a Class A misdemeanor. This is punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and $2,500 fine plus mandatory court expenses.
By retaining a qualified IL attorney, such as Andrew Nickel, you can pursue a more positive resolution of your case. In some instances, you may even receive a complete dismissal of this charge.
Driving on a Suspended License Illinois After a DUI
Under certain conditions, driving on a suspended license Illinois may cause you to be charged with a felony causing more severe penalties. For example, if your license was revoked or suspended for obtaining a DUI, a first conviction of driving on a suspended license IL carries a punishment of at least 10 days in jail or 30 days (240 hours) of community service.
Additionally, if you are convicted of driving on a revoked license, the Secretary of State will extend your suspension for the same period of time as your original suspension. Any time you have a revocation for a DUI in Illinois, it is wise to contact a reputable, local lawyer to seek advice.
Trusted Advice on Driving on Suspended License IL
Speak with proven attorneys for free.
Driving on Revoked License in IL Repercussions
A first offense of driving on revoked license in IL may be considered a misdemeanor Illinois. Plus, if you are convicted of driving on a revoked license, the Secretary of State will not consider the reinstatement of your driver’s permit for at least one year from the date of conviction.
Therefore, it is a good idea to contact a skilled attorney to avoid having your license suspended.
Further Driving on a Revoked License Illinois Repercussions
A second violation for driving on a revoked license Illinois could be charged as a Class 4 felony Illinois. A conviction for a second offense carries a potential sentence of one to three years in the Illinois Department of Corrections and a fine not to exceed $25,000. The mandatory punishment for a second crime requires 30 days in prison or 300 hours of community service.
Driving on Suspended License IL charges can be Stressful.
At the Law Offices of Andrew Nickel, we’re here to help put your mind at ease.
Illinois Drivers License Suspension Rules
- being convicted of three-plus traffic offenses within a 12-month period
- being involved in multiple collisions
- causing accidents resulting in injury or death
- driving on a license after reckless homicide
- driving under the influence of alcohol
- fleeing a police officer
- leaving the scene of an accident that involved an injury or death
These are just a few crimes after which a person might be found driving on suspended license IL. Qualified attorneys can help.
Driving on Suspended License IL Isn’t The End.
Get the help you need to plan for a successful future.
Surviving a Suspended License in Illinois
Having a suspended license in Illinois, or anywhere else for that matter, could pose a real inconvenience. It makes it difficult to get to run errands or even get to work. Plus, the period of time that your permit is suspended or revoked may vary. Having an attorney may reduce the length of your suspension and will minimize the risk of driving on suspended license IL.
If your period of revocation or suspension has ended, you may have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your permit back. The fee depends partially on the reason your license was suspended or revoked and may range from $70 to $500. There may be additional conditions, but your Illinois lawyer will be able to advise you.
License Suspended Illinois
What the potential consequences are depends primarily on why your license was suspended in Illinois. For example, if you’re convicted of driving on suspended license IL or a driving revocation, and the reason behind the initial reduction was due to reckless homicide conviction, you may face a minimum decision of 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service. (625 Ill.. Comp. Stat. § 6-303(b-5).)
If your license is suspended or revoked for certain other offenses, such as DUI, you may face a minimum decision of 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service if you are convicted of driving on suspended license IL or revocation. Sometimes it is best to consult with local DUI lawyers in Aurora, IL who are familiar with those specific laws.
Powerful Help with Driving on Suspended License IL
Laws in Illinois can be tricky, schedule a risk-free consultation today.
Illinois Secretary of State Suspended License Crimes
Under specific conditions, the Illinois Secretary of State can revoke a suspended license. Although, if you are caught driving on suspended license IL, you may be charged with a petty crime, which can be a less serious charge than a misdemeanor or felony. This would carry a maximum $500 fine.
Under other conditions, you may be charged with a felony, the most serious category of illegal activity in Illinois. Examples of reasons for felony offenses for driving after suspension or revocation include a number of previous convictions and driving while the license is revoked due to a conviction relating to homicide or DUI.
The only way to successfully fight for a reduced sentence is by hiring the right criminal lawyer in Yorkville who knows the law and is familiar with the court system in your location.
Get Help with Driving on Suspended License IL
Our firm works with families every day. Let us protect you from your Driving on Suspended License IL charges.
Driving on Suspended License Illinois
Driving on suspended license Illinois can occur after you have lost your permit for a variety of reasons. Speeding tickets, child support obligations that are delinquent, and other driving offenses are just some of the reasons that Illinois residents may find their driver’s licenses revoked or suspended.
In general, a suspension means the location has temporarily withdrawn your privilege. A revocation, however, means your permit was terminated. If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you take the risk of being charged with a crime.
Driving on Suspended License in Illinois
If you are caught driving on a suspended license in Illinois, the consequences can be dire. Your best chance of minimizing these repercussions is to contact qualified local attorneys. Life happens. People make mistakes. Be aware of your options.